myheartmyfamily

Painted Margarita Glass

A while back was my sister’s birthday, so I decided to paint her margarita glasses that she could actually use and would be fun to entertain with. 

I encourage you to give this project a try! Heres how to do it:

1) Buy wine or margarita glasses that are thick and made out of glass not crystal ( so they won’t crack in the oven). These glasses actually end up running for less money then their thinner alternatives. I bought my glasses at walmart, but I also have seen individual ones at the dollar store and hobby lobby. Then you need to purchase the paints and paintbrushes if you don’t already have them. The paints are called Pebeo, Vitrea.

You can buy the ones specifically for glass painting that are translucent or the paints that are more geared towards ceramic painting, they are not translucent but will still work. 

2) Paint the designs that you would like on the glass. You may want to search the internet or glass painting books for some ideas if you are short on them. 

3) Let dry for 24 hours

4) Bake in the oven for 40 minutes at 325 F

Here is a finished glass of mine:

The process was surprisingly easy and relatively inexpensive compared to the current painted wine and margarita glasses on the market. I will admit that since this was my first attempt I chose designs that were relatively simple because I was so worried about messing up. However, since I now have all the paints I am excited to try out more designs for future gifts!


Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

